Exploring the Roman ruins

Rome was one of my favorite stops, the only bad part about it was the heat. It was 108 degrees Fahrenheit every day, and as soon as you stepped outside you felt a wave of heat hit you, and immediately began to sweat. Of course, this didn’t ruin the magic of the city. From the time I’d first begun taking history classes I’d read about the colosseum. I used to read these books, The Magic Treehouse series, and I remember them going to the Colosseum in one of them.

IMG_1888
Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset
IMG_1891
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

I think the craziest thing about Rome was how I went from feeling like I was in an ancient city to feeling like I was amidst ruins. And I was, but a city had been built around those ruins. The Roman ruins were the type of thing I’d read about but never expected to see. They’d become a fiction of imagination, something so old that it couldn’t possibly be real.

IMG_1939_2
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
IMG_2031
Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

 

My tour of the Colosseum took us underground, and the tour guide was a local who reminded me of an Italian Zooey Deschanel. While the heat was definitely uncomfortable, it almost made being there feel more realistic.

IMG_1926
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
IMG_1942
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Each piece of the Colosseum seemed to hold an immense amount of history. If I thought about it too much I felt creeped out. There were people beaten to the death in the name of sport here. Lions were starved, brought to their most vicious states, then unleashed. Too much thought and the barbaric nature of it all became too real. Each piece is an architectural feat, from the columns, to the curve of each perfectly symmetrical archway. After a climb of stairs and some intense sweating I was able to catch my breath and enjoy the view from the very top.

IMG_2104
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
IMG_2129
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
4 thoughts on “Exploring the Roman ruins

Leave a Reply

